Old Friends – New Stories

Turn back the hands of time to 1991. That was the year that I discovered a book titled The Sheepfarmer’s Daughter. It was not at all what I had expected it to be. I found myself enthralled, no only with the characters but also the world that had been created by the author, Elizabeth Moon.

I wound up searching a number of second-hand bookshops to find Divided Allegiance and finally Oath of Gold, the second and third books about the life and deeds of Paksenarrion Dorthansdottor.

In 2005, during a visit to a bookshop in Florida, I found… wrapped in plastic and misfiled, a brand new copy of the Omnibus Edition of The Deed of Paksenarrion. I sat down and re-read the stories, and fell in love again.

Now, twelve years after the publication of Sheepfarmer’s Daughter comes the Oath of Fealty, a return to that world. I found myself once again ensorcelled by the stories of the lives of so many of who I have come to think of as familiar old friends.

I was entranced and delighted, and I hope you will be as well.

The stories continue in March of 2011, with Kings Of The North, from Del Ray Books.


About Gwendolyn McIntyre

Author, editor, businesswoman, musician, lover of jazz and horses. Chief investigator of all things that go BUMP in the night.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s