And Now A Word …

I committed myself to doing National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) this year just because I wanted to see if I could write at least the first draft of a 75K word novel in a month.

Of course, I didn’t create it all on the fly. I spent a fair amount of time this past year (since the last NaNoWriMo) world building, developing characters, writing back-stories, creating my chapter outlines, etc… just to get ready for it.

Day one came and I started writing. Nineteen days later and I’m at 68k… nearing my goal.

People have told me it’s going to haunt me, that I should just write first and edit later… but I don’t work well that way.

As a consequence, the word count I’m submitting is lower than what I’ve actually written. Then again, I don’t see NaNoWriMo as many do… a race to see who get’s there first. All you need to do to win is to complete your goal, whatever it may be.

But while accomplishing that, I want to try to produce a quality first draft instead of a lot of garbage that might someday down the road be worth submitting for publication.

I’d rather target to have a completed, fully fleshed, completely edited novel I can submit a few months from now.

Besides, I’ve other stories I want to write.

 

About Gwendolyn McIntyre

Author, editor, businesswoman, musician, lover of jazz and horses. Chief investigator of all things that go BUMP in the night.
This entry was posted in Thinking, Writing, WTFO? and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

