Book Two: A Race to the Finish Line? | EMU’s Debuts

by L.B. Schulman

Like J. wrote in Owning It, I, too, have been obsessing about the next book. But for different reasons.

I never know if I love a work-in-progress because I revise everything to death and lose all sense of perspective, anyway.

I wish I could just Be-in-the-Moment and adore my own book to death. But alas, it seems difficult. The closest I get are the chills on my arm that happen sometimes when I’m writing, or when I read back a scene I wrote the day before and feel the words rush up from my heart:  “Ooh, you’re good!”

Hmm, come to think of it, maybe this is a form of love after all. How lucky are we writers that we even get these moments where we have a physical reaction to our own creativity?

But still, it doesn’t happen often enough–given that writing is a solitary pursuit and so we don’t get the benefit of daily positive feedback from colleagues or good annual reviews to let us know we’re doing well–which is why I’m following the recommendation of another writer friend and buying myself an Applause Box. If I can’t do it for myself, might as well buy one that’s battery-operated. (OMG, did I just say that?)

Read more at: Book Two: A Race to the Finish Line?.

More about the Applause Box
About Gwendolyn McIntyre

Author, editor, businesswoman, musician, lover of jazz and horses. Chief investigator of all things that go BUMP in the night.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Books, Paying Attention, People, Random Acts of Kindness, Thinking, Writing, WTFO? and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

