The Friday Fishwrap Goes For A Song

“Music expresses that which cannot be said and on which it is impossible to be silent.”
~Victor Hugo

Writing may be a solitary endeavour, but rarely is it a silent one, not even when you’re sitting in a great library. The sights, scents and sounds of books and of people going about their individual endeavours colours ones sense in a way that sitting in your favourite room, listening to music can rarely do.

While I’ve never been a fan of having music blasting in my ears as I write, sitting on a hill overlooking an outdoor amphitheatre while a concert is underway or at the back of the room in a nightclub while the musical entertainment for the evening performs… the sights, sounds and scent of the world adds far more colour and texture to the words I would put on the page than if I were simply staring at a computer screen or page of a notebook.

There is a lot to be said for music. As a musician, I know that the range of emotions I can express with my voice or musical instruments are far greater than those I can using words on a page, and I also know the creative effect of the emotions music can invoke in writers, artists and other musicians.

And so, today, we present a little musical interlude from Caldera. I hope you enjoy it and I wish you a great weekend.

If you’re not behind on your deadlines, get out and listen to a live performance. It will change the way you listen to music… and the way you write.

About Gwendolyn McIntyre

Author, editor, businesswoman, musician, lover of jazz and horses. Chief investigator of all things that go BUMP in the night.
This entry was posted in A loud roaring noise, Blogging, Paying Attention, People, Random Acts of Kindness, Remembrance, Things you might have learned had you been paying attention, Thinking, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Friday Fishwrap Goes For A Song

  1. Mike Keyton says:

    Thanks for the link, Gwen. Really enjoying it. What music do you play? I used to be in an Irish band – the mandolin player – though I later graduated to an Octave Mandola, which has a lovely bass sound

    • Mike;

      Trumpet and cornet are my primary instruments but I also play fluegelhorn, french horn and I can find my way round a piano pretty well.

      I play in a jazz/swing big band made up of “business professionals” who still love to play and “semi-pro’s” who gig wherever they can.

      We do a lot of the 1920’s-1940’s era tunes.

Leave a Reply

